Mince pies are another Christmas tradition. They are made of sweet pastry and filled with mince meat (apple preserve, dried fruits, spices and shortening). Even though they aren’t filled with meat, they are not suitable for vegetarians as suet is made from fat from beef or mutton. However, you can make your own mince pies with vegetarian suet (found in any grocery store in the baking aisle).

Here is a link for you to make your own mince pies.

Historically mince pies did contain meat and were all different  shapes and sizes to show off during Christmas times in the Stuart and Georgian periods.

There is an old saying that if you eat a mince pie on every day from Christmas to Twelfth Night (6th January) you will have happiness for the next 12 months!

Children will also leave a mince pie out with brandy for Father Christmas. They will also leave out a carrot for the reindeer.

If you don’t have time to make your own, don’t worry, you will be able to buy these at the local grocery store as well.

All the Best!

American to Britain